Congratulations to the 2020-2021 AAF-KC Foundation Scholarship Winners

Posted on Jul. 18, 2020  /  AAF-KC News  /  

Earlier this summer, the AAF-KC Foundation completed its 2020-2021 Scholarship application process. As with all things, it was dramatically altered by COVID-19; rather than the in-person interviews that have traditionally been the last step in the application process, the Foundation committee conducted them via web conference. At the end of the process, 18 students were awarded full scholarships including $1,500 towards school costs, free membership in AAF National/AAF-KC, free admission to all AAF-KC events (excluding the American Advertising Awards) and, most importantly, they're matched with a mentor. That mentor is a professional in the KC area, working in an area of interest for the student. Additionally, 8 students were chosen to receive mentorships. 


The funding for these scholarships originally began with the sale of AAF-KC's downtown building on Baltimore in the 1980's and has always been further supported by generous members of the advertising community. That generosity has been exemplified this year by Fran & Whitey Kuhn. Whitey founded Kuhn & Wittenborn Advertising in 1978 and was a longtime member and president of the AAF-KC Foundation. His business partner, Dale Wittenborn, passed away in 2017 and, to honor his memory, Fran & Whitey have donated funds to establish the Dale Wittenborn Memorial Scholarship, awarded to the best design student selected by the Foundation committee. The first-ever winner of that Scholarship is Adam Freese of the University of Kansas. We thank Fran & Whitey for their generosity and support of the Foundation in Dale's memory. 


The 2021-2022 Scholarship application will go live in Q4 2020; for more information, visit Please email [email protected] with any questions.


2020-2021 Winners
Gabriella Aguilar, University of Kansas
Erin Bugee, University of Kansas
Lily Coit, University of Missouri
Anna Deal, Fort Hays State University
Sara deNoyelles, University of Kansas
Garrett Greenfield, Missouri State University
Bhroovi Gupta, University of Kansas
Brandon Lee, Pittsburg State University
Casey O'Connell, University of Kansas
Allison Randazzo, University of Missouri
Kate Torline, Kansas State University
Allison Binder, Northwest Missouri State University
Kathryn Hurd, Kansas State University
Hope Johnson, University of Missouri
Emma McLaren, Kansas State University
Sheyenne Denton, University of Kansas
Callie McPhail, University of Kansas
Adam Freese, University of Kansas
Mara Akers, Rockhurst University
Mason Arnold, Northwest Missouri State University
Sophie Davies, University of Missouri
Michaela Esau, William Jewell College
Mallory Hughson, Park University
Lauren Roberts, University of Missouri
Gavyn Schott, Northwest Missouri State University
Riley Seuser, Kansas State University


Congratulations again to this talented group of students. We look forward to having them involved in AAF-KC and can't wait to see what they do in the industry in the future. 

Return to News